Neglecting to obtain your locksmith license is a recipe for disaster, as it will be impossible for you to find locksmith employment and get hired without it. If you want to run a business, no license equals no formal training by an accredited school or course, which is a red flag indicating that you may not have all the skills required to be successful.

This guide will list the 7 steps to make your locksmith career official.

How Do You Get a Locksmith License in Alabama?

1. Ensure you meet the requirements for a locksmith license.

Alabama locksmith licenses are administered by the Alabama Electronic Security Board of Licensure (AESBL).

To obtain a company license:

  • Complete a company application: Business entities must fill out a Company License Application and have it signed by a notary public or witness.
  • Provide proof of insurance: Possess general liability insurance with coverage of at least $250,000.
  • Obtain a business license: Provide an Alabama state, city, or county business license.
  • Pay fees: Submit your administration and business fees to the AESBL.
  • Choose a qualifying agent: Choose a full-time employee to fill out a Qualifying Agent License application and pay a fee of $50, $100, or $150 depending on their license specialty.

To obtain an individual license: 

  • Complete an individual application: Submit an Individual License Application and Qualifying Agent License together.
  • Send in a picture: A passport-sized photo should accompany the application.
  • Attach credentials: Individuals should provide certificates for their locksmith specialty (i.e. residential, automobile, etc).
  • Affidavit: Submit a signed and notarized Affidavit of Applicant that complies with Alabama’s immigration law.
  • Pass a criminal background check: Submit a completed Alabama Bureau of Information Form-46, along with two FBI fingerprint cards, a copy of your driver’s license, and a payment of $38.25.
  • Pay fees: The individual fee of $50.00 should be paid to the AESBL.

2. Pass a criminal background check.

New applicants must fill out a Fingerprint Card Order Form. Moreover, if you have been arrested or convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation, two FBI fingerprint cards must be obtained from the AESBL and you must get fingerprinted at your local law enforcement authority’s office. This whole process costs $38.25.

What criminal history can get you disqualified?

  • Convictions related to locksmithing
  • Criminal convictions within 7 years of the application date
  • A previously revoked license

Finger Prints

3. Pass a locksmith licensing exam.

To obtain your locksmith license in Alabama, you will need certification from an approved AESBL course. Afterward, you will be required to take a proctored or board-approved exam. You will have 6 months from the time of completion of the course to take the test and pass it.

Where and how to pass the licensing exam?

AESBL specifies approved courses (both online and in-person) for certification. Here are a few examples of approved courses:

Alabama Alarm Association 

  • AAA Level 1 – System Installer Course
  • AAA Advanced System Technician Course
  • AAA Video Surveillance Course
  • AAA Access Control Course
  • AAA System Salesperson Course
  • AAA Life Safety Alarm Course

Alabama Locksmith Association 

  • Course Beginner Locksmith Test (4-day class/test)

Associated Locksmiths of America (ALOA) 

  • Comprehensive Access Control
  • Proficiency Registration Program (PRP)
  • ATC Certified Licensed Locksmith Alabama Exam (CLL)
  • CCTV Certification Course

Resources to study

Each course provides its own books and online study materials. If you become a member of the Associated Locksmiths of America (ALOA), you will also gain access to online courses, books, DVDs, CDs, and more.

Taking A Test

4. Pay fees.

To obtain a locksmith license, the following fees should be paid to the AESBL depending on the business type:

  • Businesses that are registered as a corporation or LLC pay $400.
  • Sole proprietors pay $300.
  • Individuals pay $50.

On top of that:

First-time company applicants must pay a $150 administration fee. However, individual applicants are exempted from this charge.

Receipt Paper

5. Submit your application.

License renewals can be completed online. First-time locksmith applicants should print, complete, and mail the application forms to the AESBL at the following address:

7956 Vaughn Road, PMB 392

Montgomery, Alabama 36116

Phone: (334) 264-9388

Fax: (334) 264-9332


Locksmith Costs Alabama

Start Off on the Right Foot

When you have your locksmith license in Alabama, you can legally start marketing and advertising yourself as a locksmith to potential employers or customers. Once you get your license, you will have the credentials that back up your training in tools and techniques and make you more likely to be hired.

You can also start things off right by using Workiz’s Locksmith Management Software, which helps you earn more money by managing and tracking your leads so you can more easily convert them into paying (and satisfied) customers.