Step-by-Step Guide to Getting Your Locksmith License in Maryland

Getting a locksmith license in Maryland is one of the smartest decisions you can make as a locksmith since not only does Maryland offer some of the highest average salaries in the country (starting around $50,000!), but also the process of obtaining your locksmith business license is much easier compared to that of other states. Maryland requires only its business owners to obtain a license and does not require an official exam.

This brief article will walk you through the entire process, answering only the questions you care about and redirecting you to resources to begin the process!

How Do You Get a Locksmith License in Maryland?

1. Ensure you meet the requirements for a locksmith license.

The Maryland Department of Labor (MDL) administers locksmith licenses in the State of Maryland. While businesses are required to obtain a license, employees are not, but still must complete an employee form.

To obtain a business license:

  • Complete a business application: Business owners must be at least 18 or older. Businesses must fill out and submit an original locksmith license form. 
  • Proof of a business address: A business address must be provided, motor vehicles are not accepted as an address.
  • Employee photos: Each business owner must submit photo IDs of every licensed locksmith working for them. Learn more about the requirements here
  • Driver’s license: Submit a valid driver’s license.
  • Proof of insurance: Businesses must possess general liability insurance coverage of at least $300,000. You can find more information on the proof of insurance here
  • Background check: Apply for a national and state criminal history records check and complete two fingerprint cards approved by the Director of the Central Repository and the FBI.
  • Pay fee: $225

For employees:

  • Complete an employee application: Employees must be at least 18 or older and must fill out and submit a Report of Employee form to document employment.
  • Photos: A passport-sized photograph taken within the last 6-months is required.
  • Driver’s license: Submit a valid driver’s license.
  • Background check: Apply for a national and state criminal history records check and complete two fingerprint cards approved by the Director of the Central Repository and the FBI. Your employer is responsible for covering the fees of the background check.
  • Pay fee: $225

2. Pass a criminal background check.

Visit the MD Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services to start the background check process. You can get fingerprinted at an authorized location and pay fees there.

What criminal history can get you disqualified?

The Secretary of State may deny a license, if you have:

  • Provided false information or photo identification 
  • Impersonated a locksmith
  • Been convicted of crimes related to locksmithing
  • Knowingly employed a convicted felon who has charges relating to locksmithing
  • Been convicted of a felony

The Secretary of State will consider the nature of the crime, the amount of time that has passed, your sentencing or penalties, and your behavior afterward. So, you might still have a chance to obtain a license, depending on the nature of your past offenses.  

fingerprinting for locksmith license

3. Complete educational requirements.

Although Maryland does not require an official exam for a locksmith license, you still need to choose and complete one of the following three options to prepare for a career in locksmithing:

  • Attend an accredited locksmithing school
  • Take an online accredited course
  • Become an apprentice under a licensed locksmith

Where to study locksmithing?

Associated Locksmiths of America

For certification, practice tests, training, and study material.

locksmith license exam

4. Pay application fee.

Both locksmith businesses and employees must pay a non-refundable application fee of $225 once the application has been approved.

5. Submit your application.

Completed locksmith applications should be printed out and mailed or delivered in person to the following address:

Maryland Locksmith Licensing Program

500 N. Calvert Street, Room 481

Baltimore, Maryland 21202-3651

maryland locksmith license cost

Get Licensed in Maryland and Start Working as a Locksmith

One thing that Maryland requires from its locksmiths is a fixed business address, which does not include a motor vehicle. If you are planning to start your own locksmith business, then finding a location and setting up a shop to house all your inventory is something you need to plan and prepare for. You should have a general idea of the locksmithing tools you need to successfully run your business. 

Also, brush up on your command of Locksmith Management and Scheduling Software, such as Workiz. This type of tool is a lifesaver whether you are a beginner or a veteran technician who needs to manage inventory, send invoices, receive payments, view jobs at a glance, and scale operations. If all of this sounds good to you, sign up for a free trial of Workiz and test it out!

Share this post:

Give Us 14 Days and We’ll Transform Your Business!
Get full access, no credit card required.