Completing your registration with the state will allow you to legally:
- Use the title of “locksmith” when running your locksmith business
- Advertise your services without getting fined
The registration process is fairly quick and easy. Before walking you through it, let’s first go over who is exempt from registering as a locksmith in Connecticut.
Who is Exempt from Registering as a Locksmith?
Connecticut license registrations are administered through Connecticut State’s Department of Consumer Protection (DCP). The following professionals are exempt from registration, as long as they do not use the title of “locksmith” while performing general locksmithing tasks:
- An employee of a state, municipality, or other political subdivision, agency, or government who performs locksmithing tasks.
- Automobile service technicians who service, install, repair, or rebuild automobile locks.
- Members of the building trades who install and remove complete locks and locking devices for residential and commercial new construction or remodeling projects.
- Towing services employees, automobile club representatives, repossessors, and employees who work on opening automotive locks within regular activities.
- Students studying in locksmith programs approved by the DCP.
- Maintenance employees of an owned property or property management companies of multi-family residential buildings who service, install, repair, and/or open locks for tenants.
- Persons employed as security personnel at schools or college campuses who open locks as a part of their responsibilities.
How Do You Register as a Locksmith in Connecticut?
1. Make sure you meet the requirements for locksmith registration.
Prerequisites for locksmith registration:
- Meet minimum age requirement: At least 18 years old.
- Submit criminal history: You must complete, attach, and submit a Criminal History Record Request Form with your locksmith registration application and pay a fee of $75 for this service.
- Get fingerprinted: Fingerprinting should be completed at a Connecticut State Police department. The fee is $15.
- FBI background check: An Identity History Summary Check from the FBI must be attached to your registration application, for an additional fee of $18.
2. Pass a criminal background check.
Before submitting your registration application, request an FBI background check, either online or by mail.
Send an electronic request to the FBI here.
Complete the application form, get fingerprinted, submit payment, and mail documents to this address:
FBI CJIS Division – Summary Request
1000 Custer Hollow Road
Clarksburg, WV 26306
What criminal history may get you disqualified?
The police commissioner may revoke or refuse to issue a registration if you have:
- Been convicted of a crime related to locksmithing activity
- Provided dishonest information on your application
- Committed violent assaults in any state or jurisdiction
- Impersonated a locksmith
- Engaged in unfair or deceptive business practices
- Have had a prior registration suspended or revoked
- Run a business without obtaining the right to occupy a location
3. Complete educational requirements.
Lucky for you, there is no official exam that you need to pass to register as a locksmith in Connecticut. However, it’s highly recommended you complete one of the following three requirements to prepare for a career in locksmithing:
- Attend an accredited locksmithing school
- Take an accredited course online
- Become an apprentice under a licensed locksmith
Where can you study locksmithing?
Associated Locksmiths of America — certification, test preparation, and practice.
4. Pay a registration fee.
To register as a locksmith, you must pay a non-refundable, non-transferable application fee of $200 to the DCP.
5. Submit your application.
You can submit your company or individual application for locksmith registration (including your criminal background report and fingerprinting forms) to Connecticut State’s Department of Consumer Protection in person at this address:
Department of Consumer Protection License Services
Division 450 Columbus Blvd, Ste. 801
Hartford, CT 06103
Become a Registered Locksmith in Connecticut
If you live in Connecticut, take advantage of the fact that you do not need to obtain a locksmith license or pass a lengthy and expensive exam to work as a locksmith. These perks could help you save time and money if you are starting your own company or buying a locksmith business.
Once your business is established and you get registered, try using Workiz’s Locksmith Scheduling and Management Software to book jobs, send text updates to clients, collect and track payments, and optimize your advertising.