Step-by-Step Guide to Getting Your Locksmith License in Oklahoma

Want to hear a shocking fact about the locksmith industry?

Only 15 states require locksmiths to get a license. Yup, crazy right?! You would think handing over something as important as commercial and home security would require the same regulation across the country, but that just isn’t the case. Absolutely anyone can impersonate a locksmith and cause serious damage and safety issues to the public. Luckily, Oklahoma is one of the states that does require a locksmith license to practice.

Oklahoma offers licenses for trainees, individual technicians, and business owners. Below, we’ll break down the documents you’ll need to submit, where and how you can pass the state exam, and the total cost of it all.

How Do You Get a Locksmith License in Oklahoma?

1. Ensure you meet the requirements for a locksmith license.

The  Alarm, Locksmith, & Fire Sprinkler program of the Oklahoma Department of Labor (ODOL) administers locksmith licenses in the State of Oklahoma. ODOL also has temporary licenses for trainees and specialized licenses for electrical locksmiths. Here are the requirements: 

To obtain a locksmith license:

  • Complete your application: You can find applications for businesses, individuals, and trainees on the ODOL’s website.
  • Age: Applicants must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Identification: A valid driver’s license or state photo ID, and a birth certificate or SSN card. 
  • Criminal background check: Submit 2 fingerprint cards and complete a background check with the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. 
  • Pictures: Submit a color copy of two forms of ID and a color passport photo.  
  • Pass an exam: All applicants must pass a locksmith licensing examination. 
  • Signed affidavit: Submit an Affidavit of Lawful Presence.

2. Pass a criminal background check.

You must get fingerprinted and complete an FBI background check, both for a fee.

What criminal history can get you disqualified?

  • Criminal activities relating to locksmithing
  • Any act that puts public safety at risk
  • A felony conviction

ODOL states that no conviction is an automatic disqualification.

locksmith license criminal background check - Workiz

3. Pass the Oklahoma locksmith licensing exam.

The Oklahoma locksmith licensing exam is administered at The CareerTech Testing Center and can be taken on site or online.

  • On-site fee: $60
  • Online fee: $85

How to pass your Oklahoma locksmith licensing exam?

Oklahoma CareerTech provides a free, downloadable study guide for aspiring locksmiths that reviews the contents of the test, example questions, reading recommendations, and preparation tips. 

The Oklahoma Burglar and Fire Alarm Association also offers virtual training that costs between $175-$250.

Study material

locksmith license exam

4. Pay application fee.

The fees for an Oklahoma locksmith license depend upon what type of license you are applying for:

  • Business license: $250
  • Individual license: $49
  • Trainee license: $75

5. Submit your application.

Print, complete, and send your application to the following address:

Oklahoma Department of Labor

3017 N Stiles, Suite 100

Oklahoma City, OK 73105

888-269-5353

labor.info@labor.ok.gov 

Oklahoma locksmith license cost - Workiz

Are You Ready to Get Your Oklahoma Locksmith License?

Locksmiths who have the required education, training, and licensing are considered more knowledgeable and professional than those who don’t. Recently, there has been an uptick in locksmith scams publicized online by upset customers. If you want to give the industry a good name, you can read our blog for helpful tips to help you start a locksmith business, get customers, market yourself, and stay safe on the job.

Once you get your business on its feet, Workiz’s Locksmith Scheduling and Management Software will help you take those tips and put them into action whether you’re in the field or in the office, enabling you to manage clients, schedule jobs, send invoices, and receive payments.

Share this post:

Give Us 14 Days and We’ll Transform Your Business!
Get full access, no credit card required.