Step-by-Step Guide to Getting Your Locksmith License in Louisiana

Are you thinking about working as a locksmith in Louisiana? If so, whether you are a business owner or an employee, you will need a locksmith license. This article will give you an overview of the license application process, providing you with the steps necessary to submit your application and details regarding where to take and study for the prerequisite examination. 

How Do You Get a Locksmith License in Louisiana?

1. Ensure you meet the requirements for a locksmith license.

Locksmith licenses (for businesses and for individuals) are administered by the Louisiana Office of State Fire Marshal (SFM).

To obtain a business license:

  • Complete a firm application: Business entities must fill out and submit a Life Safety and Property Protection Firm Application.
  • Choose a qualifier for your business: Qualifiers must obtain specialty locksmith certifications from the Associated Locksmiths of America (ALOA) and must live within 150 miles of your business.
  • Sign affidavit: Owners or qualifiers of the business must sign an affidavit attesting to their role in the company.
  • Provide proof of insurance: Businesses must show proof of a General Liability & Workers Compensation certificate and have liability insurance covering at least $500,000.
  • Submit picture: A digital picture in .jpg format should accompany the application.
  • Submit background check: Each owner, manager, or principal must submit a fingerprint card, complete a background check, and pay a fee, which must be submitted to the Department of Public Safety. 
  • Service tags: Must provide certification tags. Read more about these here.
  • Pay fee: $250

To obtain an employee license:

  • Complete an employee form: Fill out and submit the Life Safety and Protection employee application
  • Submit picture: A passport-sized photo in .jpg format.
  • Current ID: A valid driver’s license must be submitted.
  • Background check: Submit a fingerprint card, complete a background check, and pay a fee to the Department of Public Safety. 
  • Certifications: Individuals should possess a copy of training certificates for the locksmith position.
  • Sign affidavit: A signed affidavit for employees must be submitted.
  • Pay fee: $100

2. Pass a criminal background check.

Both businesses and employees must go to their local law enforcement offices and get a fingerprinted and complete a background check. You will pay a fee of $38. Read more about it here.

What criminal history can get you disqualified?

Typical crimes that may disqualify you are convictions relating to locksmithing and violent assault charges. You should still apply if you do have a record.

fingerprinting for locksmith license

3. Pass a licensing exam.

All qualifiers of a company and locksmith employees must pass an accredited locksmith licensing examination. 

Where and how to pass the licensing exam?

SFM has partnered with the Associated Locksmiths of America, which provides study materials and administers the locksmith licensing exam for the State of Louisiana. 

For Businesses

All qualifiers must have at least one of the following certifications:

  • ALOA Certified Licensed Locksmith (CLL)
  • ALOA Certified Registered Locksmith (CRL)
  • ALOA Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL)
  • ALOA Certified Master Locksmith (CML)

The following courses are required:

  • Fire Marshal Administrative Rules Course 
  • Fire Marshal Plan Review Course 
  • Life Safety Course 
  • Training & Education Requirements for Certification & Continuing Education

For Employees

All technicians must have one of the following certifications:

  • ALOA Six-Day Basic Locksmithing Course
  • ALOA Certified Licensed Locksmith (CLL) 
  • ALOA Certified Registered Locksmith (CRL)
  • ALOA Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL)
  • ALOA Certified Master Locksmith (CML)
  • Certificate of Graduation from a Department of Labor Apprenticeship Program
  • US Military School or Specialty Rating/Qualification/Designation
  • Lockmasters Security Institute Professional Locksmithing Course
  • LSPPAB Policy & Procedures 6 Revised January 28, 2013 
  • Cothron’s Locksmith Basic Field Locksmith Operations Course
  • Pop-A-Lock Fundamentals of Locksmithing Course
  • Bank-Tec South Initial Locksmith Certification Course
  • Elite CEU General Locksmith Certification Course

Resources to study:

Once you become a member of ALOA, you will gain access to books, DVDs, webinars, and more study material. 

locksmith license exam

4. Pay application fee.

To obtain a locksmith license, the following fees should be paid to the SFM via check or money order:

  • Businesses pay $250
  • Employees pay $100

5. Submit your application.

Locksmith applicants should print, complete, and mail or deliver the application forms to the following address:

Office of the State Fire Marshal, 

Licensing Section 

8181 Independence Blvd.

Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

(225) 925-4911 

lasfm.org

Louisiana locksmith license cost - Workiz

Get Your Locksmith License and Get to Work in Louisiana

Obtaining the Louisiana locksmith license is the first step to begin a successful career in locksmithing. The next step is to make sure that you enter the field with the appropriate tools and equipment. Familiarize yourself with the essential locksmith tools every technician needs. These tools, parts, and gear will prepare you to work inside homes, commercial buildings, vehicles, and with dvanced security and lock systems. This list will also save you from wasting money on things you don’t need as a beginner. 

To up your locksmith game, make sure you are aware of the latest locksmith technology, including Workiz’s Locksmith Scheduling and Management Software, which can help you coordinate and run your business easily while you are out on the field. Instead of sticking with pen and paper, this locksmith software enables you to schedule and book jobs online, keep clients updated at every stage, and manage clients and jobs at the touch of a button on your mobile phone or iPad. Sign up for a 14-day free trial with Workiz.

Share this post:

Give Us 14 Days and We’ll Transform Your Business!
Get full access, no credit card required.